World Hijab Day

A young woman is promoting a day of challenge to women everywhere to wear a headscarf on February 1, 2014.  It is meant to be an experiment, a sort of walking in others’ shoes.

http://worldhijabday.com/

 

In my opinion, both sides of the question are making too big a deal out of what a woman wears on her head or whether she wears anything on it.

I can’t stand anything around my neck and I hate scarves.  They are slippery, slithery and itchy.  I love the wind in my hair and the warm sun helping me get my vitamin D.

I believe God is much more concerned about what we have in our hearts.  I do believe in exercising modesty but our intentions and acts weigh far more than the packaging.

I reserve the right to wear things on my head.

 

Or not.

at the beach 2013

 

Nevertheless some women face harassment for wearing a head scarf.  The government in France has even started to meddle in the question.  I would also like to reserve the right for others to do as they please in this regard.  I don’t think it is right for anyone to make disobliging remarks to those who wear a scarf, hijab, headdress, etc.

So on the day, should I wear a scarf in defense of those who choose to do so or not wear one in defense of those who choose not to?  I could take one on and off all day.  Oh, no, my hair would be a mess!  Or should I let the day pass without doing anything since as I already stated, I feel too big a deal is being made of this.

And why wouldn’t men wear a scarf for a day?  After all, their hair, necks and ears can be quite attractive.

 

.

Tags: , ,

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

3 responses to “World Hijab Day”

  1. SnowFlake says :

    Yes, I agree! Men should wear a scarf too, that would quite divert the attention of the importance given to women wearing head scarves! 🙂

  2. fatoscan says :

    Dear Djd I’m not going to wear anything cause I believe that men not being able to control themselves made this scarf business . Your last sentence is perfect , they should cover themselves for us as well . :-))

  3. Marahm says :

    In Saudi Arabia, men wear their tradition head gear, which covers hair, ears, and neck, and they look even more handsome with it than without it!

Your thoughts:

