Three Projects

I have set three projects for myself to accomplish in the near future.

 

A chair to re-cane….

chair to cane

A wall to re-point…

wall to point

First, in order to be able to move the piano, I had something called “bridge à roulettes” installed.  I can now move it myself, almost with one hand.

 bridge à roulettes

 

Third project is to paint the wall behind a stove…

fireplace paint job

 I plan to imitate the stone encircled in purple.

 

I have started on the chair.

clean chair

 I got rid of the old caning, rubbed the wood with steel wool and waxed it.  I didn’t realize how dirty it was until I stared cleaning it.  Similar to searching one’s soul to make it good.  We all think we are pretty good.

 

début trame

 Here is the first step.  I have instructions in a book called “L’Encyclopédie Faites Tout Vous-même” which has been a treasure trove of how-to information for us over the years.  This chair is one of a pair.  I did its mate about 25 years ago, before we bought this house.  I seem to remember it taking me either 6 weeks or 6 months.  I had a lot of other stuff going on then with two young children.

I did the second half of this step twice as I wasn’t satisfied with the way it came out.  Then I modified the left edge so the rows are more vertical.  The trapezoidal form creates a few complications.

I was working in a white room with a fairly large window but had to turn on the lights at noon to see what I was doing, the sky was so dark.  The cane has a wrong and right side, mustn’t get it twisted.

To be continued….

 

.

Tags: , , ,

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

4 responses to “Three Projects”

  1. fatoscan says :

    The painting projects are OK but the chair will be a hard work . I dont know what you call it , we say ‘ hazaren ‘ . Good luck to you .

    • djdfr says :

      The chair just takes stubborn perseverance. It is done sitting down. Re-pointing does a job on my wrist and I don’t know how long it will take me to get the paint job right. 🙂

Your thoughts:

