It’s Embarrassing

Last year I bought a couple new shirts.  As I was ironing them the other day, with a shock I remembered buying two shirts in December 1978 almost identical to these.  For someone who advocates personal change in order to bring about a better world, it’s embarrassing.

 

new shirts

old shirts

I keep old clothes like these for messy painting, gardening, cider-making type jobs.  The sleeves got in the way, they were ragged, so I cut them off.

 

The weather outside is frightful but knitting in a warm house is delightful.

 

new gloves2

I bought a new coat and my gloves don’t match.  I decided to make a new pair using the same pattern but changing the colours.  More stuck-in-a-rut-ed-ness?  Is it frivolous to make new gloves just because they don’t match?  They didn’t match my previous coat either, which was given to me second hand.  I found it jarring every time I pulled them out of my pockets.  Oh, these really do not match.  Artistic over-sensitivity?  It takes several hours to knit a pair of gloves.  Dollar stores have them and I would be contributing to some poor factory worker’s betterment somewhere in the world if I bought them.  On the other hand (ungloved for the moment) is it not good to be industrious and creative myself?

 

Like my knitting, my thoughts go back and forth or round and round.

 

I can only hope I have more success at changing my heart than my feathers.

 

Tags: ,

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

3 responses to “It’s Embarrassing”

  1. Lois says :

    Be the change you wish to see. It’s all good but maybe try green or purple next time. My fav color is pink.

  2. Kathy Nesseth says :

    A “fun” and interesting blog! I also love to knit, particularly gloves.

  3. Anna B says :

    Your gloves are great! I am really into checked shirts at the minute too and I remember wearing them when I was about 17. I think they are just a classic wardrobe item!

Your thoughts:

