Firing the Oven as Shawwal Nears

Tomorrow will be the last day of fasting for this year’s Ramadan so I wanted to make some pastries for Sunday which will be the celebration after the effort, although I must say, there has been an aspect of that each evening this month even when eating fairly plain salads.  I decided to bake today since I will be out painting tomorrow and Sunday.  I got right to it after breakfast so as not to be too hungry while doing it.  It’s hard to bake while fasting as I automatically tend to lick my fingers, bowls and any other tidbits prone to escape.  I set the trays aside and saved the crumbs until this evening.  I mixed odds and ends together instead of eating them and made some kind of cookie.

Meanwhile my husband has been gently breaking in our new bread oven, building small fires over several days’ time.  Today he brought it up to a temperature suitable for baking and I thought what a shame to waste that warmth.  I had some left-over filling from this morning so I made half a recipe of pie crust and baked small pies, then of course, the “little something” with what was left.  During the day I was asking myself, would it be good to eat a few pastries tonight even though they are meant for the eïd which is Sunday or not?  I hadn’t really made up my mind but I had no compunction about enjoying these “extra” ones made out of leftovers.



No sign that anything is baking




It has double doors.






It worked!




This oven has been a dream for many years.  This is one of my cookbooks, filled with bakers from all over who bake in all kinds of situations, even a stewardess on an airplane. 



In the back of my mind (for about 30 years) has been this image:



Although it is a black and white photo, I somehow know that the sky is very blue.

There is a passage in The Revelation of Arès where our Creator uses an oven as an image.

“The Fire rises inside the (red-hot) iron, pierces the sole; (it) lifts (from) the Core (all the way) to the head of the brother.   The Marrow runs along (the) iron (to) the brother’s cool head.  The cool head speaks (clearly), (but) the hot head is (like) nine heads.”

The Revelation of Arès xLiii/14-15


Perhaps with the physical example of this oven, I will incorporate these Words better into my life.  I see there is heat in the center, at the heart, a force linked to our Creator, but it is not something that makes one run off hot-headed, just as the heat of the oven is barely perceptible outside of it, yet the food is gently metamorphosed.  So I work towards transforming myself, building a soul.

Tags: , ,

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

