A Sunday Walk


I thought I would get on my bicycle today but there was way too much wind so I walked instead.  The weather was unsettled, having rained during the night and morning, much needed rain.  As often in this climate, there was a sunny break with boisterous clouds and blustery breezes.

I tasted a gorse flower.  I didn’t realize they were edible until I saw it mentioned on another person’s blog.  I picked one flower, removed the sepals, checked for any type of bug and then slowly chewed it.  It reminded me of something, chew and taste, … ,  yes, it tastes like alfalfa sprouts.

Upon return I thought I would check its properties in a book where I saw it listed as poison due to the seeds apparently.  I decided to do a google and found out on the wiki page that it is indeed edible.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gorse

This plant is called ajonc in French and has been used to feed horses in this area.  There was a strange opening at ground level in one of our outbuildings, strange because it did not seem like a window.  I asked our neighbour who told me that an axle protruded there so that the horse could walk around milling the ajonc for his food.  I have also seen this demonstrated in fairs with old time activities using a hand turned grinder.

It is rather thorny and picking the flower reminded me of collecting juniper berries.  They don’t seem to grow here.  When we lived in another area of France, there was a place we knew to go get them after frost.  We “needed” them for sauerkraut.

Nature is full of our Creator’s bounty.

“Have I ever set a price for My Salvation?
Have I not given it to all men in return for efforts of penitence which is joy to pious men,
which is not heavier than the usurer’s worries, which is lighter than the wealthy one’s and the mighty one’s yoke?
Along My Paths toward My Heights bees work hard for all men.
Why senselessly manufacture honey and wax in workshops?
At their foot My Almond trees spread their fruit; the partridge does not require payment for its meat, neither does the goat for its milk.
I make oil gush for (making) fire, I spread the earth ‘s surface with lead and copper for all men in return for efforts to collect and dress them.
Do I not give the tile from clay in return for efforts to bake it?”

The Revelation of Arès 28/25-26

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

One response to “A Sunday Walk”

  1. TheGreat Zambini says :

    What fun! I don’t know about half of the edible plants around me, I can hardly keep track of the plants in my garden! 😉 Now I’m getting all excited to see your posts for March this year!

Your thoughts:

