Throwing Away Dreams

“Aujourd’hui j’ai jeté des rêves”, I said to my husband last evening.

I still have the hope of having what one could properly call a living room.  From time to time, we make progress.  There are a few boxes left to go through.  It’s hard to do this.  It confronts us with how time has flown, how things have evolved.  Stuff has been in these boxes since we moved, 23 years ago, although not undisturbed.  Regularly I would find myself rummaging through them, looking for something I knew was there, but where?  Yesterday I found maps and packages of tourist information.  Some of these date back to my college days when I would send in coupons from magazines and receive things like What to See and Do in the Carolinas or guides to the Dakotas and Montana.  Others are from before we bought this old house, when we used to visit places.  However, what use is a 30 year old map of Switzerland for example?  So I decided to part with these things.

“You put them in the yellow bag, didn’t you?”,  my husband asked.  “They aren’t thrown that far away, you could get them back if you wanted….”  The yellow bag is for recyclable items.  I guess that sort of gives a momentary moratorium.

In another box there are issues of Organic Gardening.  I flipped through the pile, looking at the titles.  “Feel better: eat a raw food diet”  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  I thought that was a somewhat recent idea, but this article was in the July 1978 issue.  I closed that box, waiting for later to make those decisions.  

The worst thing is that we filled our new shelves before we finished emptying our old boxes.  The second worst thing is realizing no one else will want this stuff.  

Who knows whether or not we will ever go to Montana but if we do, I will get a new map.

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

