May Day 2011

This year the lilies of the valley have been blooming since April 10th whereas usually we wonder if any will open for May Day.  Yesterday we had thunder, lightning and hail.  No real apparent damage in the garden, just the lettuce looks a bit bedraggled.  I am so glad to have rain.  It was worrisome, this unusually sunny weather.  Will it frost?  Will there be a drought?  Can I use the water in the cistern or should I save it in case things get worse?  Nice rain falling today with a moment of respite which enabled me to sow more leafy vegetables.

It has become a regular thing for me to post on May Day.  I was wondering if that is equivalent to a pagan celebration.  I think it just serves me as a mark of sorts, observing this year’s season in relation to the past years.

Many enjoy and prefer the sunny weather.  I do too, up to a point, but when the point arrives that everything is thirsty, nothing is growing from lack of water, then I prefer the rainy weather.  Perhaps in life we also prefer the party times, wishing we didn’t need to work, wallowing in letting ourselves go rather than striving to become better, more loving, more peaceful, more forgiving.


About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

