A Raw Hummus

Another raw adventure.  I love hummus but I don’t know how it will be with raw germinated chick peas.  There are recipes for this so someone somewhere has eaten it before and I presume, lived to write their recipe.

I put 1 cup chick peas to soak overnight and then had them in the strainer you see for about 4 days, rinsing them several times a day.  My husband ate one and told me it was interesting.  Not to be left behind, I tried one also.  I found a bean sprout taste and only a bare hint of what a chick pea usually tastes like to me.


Today I made the raw hummus, following a recipe in a small book I have had for some time, “Graines germées et jeunes pousses” by Chantal and Lionel Clergeaud.  I think their ½ glass water was not the same as my standard American ½ cup measure.  Next time I will use less water.  I added some tahini and oil to compensate.  My one cup of dried peas gave 200 grams of sprouts so I adjusted accordingly, except for the water fortunately (I did not add ¾ cup water!).

Here is their recipe:
125g sprouted chick peas
2 cloves garlic
2 soup-spoonfuls lemon juice
2 soup-spoonfuls tahini (sesame seed purée)
1 soup-spoonful olive oil
½ teaspoonful ground cumin
salt
chopped mint (I won’t be adding this.)
Put everything in the blender with ½ glass of water.


So now I am waiting to see if this changes with a bit of time as these things often do mellow.  Right now, it tastes very light and raw bean sprouty, not the same as the traditional preparation.

***

Supper is ready with Belgian endive leaves, parsley and chives.



And now for the taste test.


I found that the flavours had blended during the couple hours in the refrigerator.  There seemed to be less of a bean sprout taste, unless that was just because I was prepared for that taste.  All in all, it was lighter and not as tasty as the traditional version.  Plus fin, as we would say in French.  A satisfying dish nevertheless.

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

