Brussels Sprouts and Hazel

I remember the first time I ever ate a Brussels sprout.  I was in college and my roommate was quite enthusiastic about them; she fixed some frozen ones lightly steamed.  Confidently I speared one with a fork and bit into it.  Shock!  Consternation!  Something logarithmic was happening here—all the flavour of a 10 inch cabbage was in this little 1 inch sphere.

Several years later due to my husband’s appreciation of them, I learned another way to fix them—parboiled and then simmered with butter and shallots.  This was milder but still they were what we call in French “étouffe-Chrétien” (smotherer of Christians).

Lately I have been leaning towards more raw food so I decided to try them uncooked.  I went out in the garden and picked some, mid-afternoon, and prepared them for the evening.  I found them to be so pretty.


I split them in half and then added apple cider vinegar, tamari soy sauce, olive oil, sesame seeds and a little bit of harissa (powdered).


I wasn’t sure how this would turn out.  What a delicious surprise!  They were crisp yet not too hard with a very light taste.  My husband found them similar to artichoke hearts and wondered why we ever cooked them.

Outside, if one looks, there is a lot of beauty even in the winter months.  I have been noticing the hazel which is flowering.  Some are yellow and some are reddish brown.  I don’t know why.

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

