Ruminations

morning view 7 sept

 

View from window this morning

 

It looks like we have company next door (field) for a few days.  I am reading a book called “The Omnivore’s Dilemma”  and just learned how cows move over a field, choosing the grasses they like best and the way it works together for the good of both.

 

The other day while I was painting there was a moment when I thought, “If  I weren’t fasting, I would break for lunch now.  I wonder what time it is.”  So I got down and went to look—it was 10:46.

I am not Muslim in a religious sense but I do believe the Qur’an is from God and since Muhammad says fasting is good for you if you only knew and also God says in The Revelation of Arès to form a fraternal alliance within the family of Abraham, I find fasting during Ramadan to be a way of doing so.

I was mulling over how it seems to me a good thing that Ramadan moves during the year so that you don’t always get stuck with the longest days.  (We decided to fix our own day length anyway to what seems reasonable to us, 12 hours.)  Imagine, I was thinking, if you were born during Ramadan and it was a fixed month, then you would always have to wait ‘til night for your birthday cake.  But upon further thought, I realized that if that’s your calendar, then Ramadan is always Ramadan.  Then I remembered there are Muslims who don’t celebrate birthdays.  So many things formed and shaped by culture.  Maybe I am hungry for birthday cake; there are a few pieces in the freezer.  Maybe I am just hungry.  LOL

I have been enjoying a series of cartoons about Ramadan.  Laughter gives strength.  If you read French, you might enjoy them.  The one that made me laugh the most is where big business is trying to market a niche product called mutton flavoured halal ham with merguez bits.

http://www.bdouin.com/article-35550530.html

Tags:

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

