Leeky Crêpes

It’s time to work the soil in the garden so I dug up what was left of the leeks.  They are not prize-winning, are rather puny, but they are handy to have around for soups and other things all during the winter.  They are ready to bolt now.  These were left after I cooked some to put in crêpes for lunch.  I chopped them and then melted them in a bit of olive oil and as they were getting slightly dry, I skimmed a bit of cream from the milk  and spooned that over them.  They made a nice filling along with grated cheese and/or an egg.  I never had a leek before I came to France.




These are Breton crêpes made on a bilig with specific tools.  The one that looks like a rake is for spreading the batter and the one that looks like a spatula is for turning them.  Sometimes I make both savoury and sweet but today I only made the savoury ones.  My recipe is adapted from the one on the buckwheat flour package: 250 grams buckwheat flour, 60 grams white wheat flour, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 egg.  I put 1 cup of milk in a glass measuring pitcher and then add water until it comes up to the 800 milliliter line.  Mix well with a whisk.  You have to wreck a few to get the hang of spreading them on the bilig but all are edible. 


Here is a before picture of the vegetable garden.  Here in Brittany we must take advantage of nice weather because we never know how long it will last or when it will return once it leaves.  Maybe tomorrow evening  the roto-tiller will get its seasonal work-out.


It occurred to me that with one person’s death, three holidays can disappear from one’s calendar—their birthday, anniversary and Mothers’ Day.  I am glad we still have my mother-in-law.  I will make her a card as usual but I will only need to print one copy this year.

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

