We Went to the Movies

♫♪

 

We don’t go to the movies very often as it is a bit far and our shared taste in films is narrow, but at our choral group someone recommended that everyone see “I Feel Good” and several others chimed in, saying, yes, yes, do go, and tomorrow will be the last showing.  So we did and about half of our choir was there.

The film is a documentary type about a choir called Young @ Heart.  The average age of the members is 80 and they sing rock and punk music.  They are located in Northampton, Massachusetts.  So here I am in a dark room in France, transported for a short while to the States.  It’s funny which things elicit an emotional response—I felt pangs as I saw them set out the folding chairs for the rehearsal, just the ordinary gray metal folding chairs, but the chairs aren’t like that here.  I laughed and I cried, maybe more crying as I thought about personal things.

One man’s blood counts were low and he had to go in the hospital.  That made me think about my brother-in-law who is fighting a brain tumor; his blood counts are closely watched. Another man was also hospitalized.  They showed him being moved from the hospital to a convalescent home.  I thought about my mother; she’s been in the hospital, moved to an annex, then to a nursing home, and now in another hospital, in the past month.  Another man sang even though he needed oxygen due to congestive heart failure.  He spoke of fluid retention in the legs and lungs, again I thought of my mother.  She had a heart valve replaced and a by-pass.  They all sang to the best of their abilities with all their beings, dedicating songs to those unable to be present.

If you don’t sing, you may not realize how beneficial it is.  Singing is my favorite form of pranayama (breathing exercises).  Strong bonds have been formed among the members of our choir where I have been singing for about 15 years.  We have had one member that died and we sang at his cremation.  I especially like singing in harmony and that is not something one can do alone.  Together we create something beautiful.  Hey, this would have been good for Picture Perfect: Collective.

People were fairly silent as we left the cinema; I think I wasn’t the only one that cried.

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

