Picture Perfect: Worn

These are my old jeans; they need fixed again.  My “good” jeans are getting a bit frayed around the cuffs so I bought a new pair which means the old “good” ones may now be worn in the garden and this pair may be relegated to a trunk in the attic unless I get the urge to add another patch.  I saw a similar pair in a shop window on a ritzy street in the south of France for 285 euros.

The chair you see here was quite worn when we got it; I redid the caning, waxed it and now it’s as good as new.  I don’t know when I will take the time to do its mate.

The stone trough (lower right) was hidden in a wall where we opened a passageway.  It probably was for doing dishes or salting pork originally.  I put plants in it.

One element of worn things that we admire may be the effort involved for them to remain functional.  Perhaps it is also a seeking of the eternal. 

Somewhere within, we have an inkling that we were meant to be perpetual.  A patched up, re-worked, sanded over soul will not have the same beauty as a pure innocent child, but it will have the triumph of having overcome.

For more entries on the theme of worn, go to Picture Perfect.

Tags:

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

