Chou Daubenton

chou daubenton 1
This spring at a plant exchange a lady gave me some branchy type things with cabbage leaves.  She said just stick these in the ground and then you’ll have perpetual cabbages, just break off the side shoots and eat them.  They are called chou Daubenton.  Chou means cabbage, but I don’t know why the name Daubenton.

I stuck them in and they took and now they have grown so I was wondering should I cut the growing tip or wait until the side shoots get bigger and just eat them.  I did some googling and found a very nice forum that is mainly for tomatoes, but they branch out into other things also.  I was advised to cut them so that they will be compact and not break this winter.

 

So tonight was the great adventure on our plates.  People compare them to asparagus or broccoli.  A nearby farmer’s wife said she considers them to be for the rabbits.  So I really didn’t know what to expect. 

 

chou daubenton 2

I decided to steam them and serve with vinaigrette.  I didn’t know how far to go in preparing them.  Should I pare the stems like I do broccoli?  Will the leaves be tough?

 

chou daubenton 3
Here they are, ready to be cooked.  I took off some of the leaves and gave them to the chickens.  I steamed them for about 10 minutes, then let cool a bit.  They were very good, very much like broccoli and yes, I should have peeled the stems, but the leaves were delicious.

Brassica oleracea, var. ramosa

Tags: ,

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

