Noah’s Pudding

Intrigued by Umman C’s post on ashura and seeing some references to this day elsewhere, equally intriguing, I decided to look into it a bit.

All is not clear to me yet. There seem to be many traditions mixed up together, Noah, Moses, a Jewish fast adopted by Muhammad, and others.

I like thinking about Noah – he must have been quite courageous. One of the traditions says this ashura day is from when he sent out a dove and there wasn’t much left to eat in the ark, so he threw together what there was and made this pudding.

I looked at various recipes and decided to try it myself.

I soaked ½ cup whole grain wheat, ¼ cup rice, ¼ cup small white beans, and ¼ cup chick peas (garbanzo beans), each one separately, overnight. I also soaked a few whole almonds. Then I put the wheat and rice to cook, keeping covered with water, adding a pinch of salt. I cooked the beans, each kind separately and when they were soft, let them cool a bit and then popped off their skins. That was a bit time-consuming.

The recipes called for orange peel but I don’t have any, so, thinking that this is going to be sweet anyway, I put in some orange marmalade which contains orange peel, maybe 2 teaspoonsful. I added a bit of whole cinnamon. It seemed to me that Noah would not have had sugar so I used honey, about 2 tablespoonsful. I put the beans in with the rest, by now, it has been simmering for about 2 hours. I added 3 dried apricots, cut up, and 3 dates, some raisins. I popped the skins off the almonds. We had a little bit for dessert at lunch but it seemed to need a bit more cooking for the chick peas – all in all, it cooked gently for about 3 hours. My husband thought the almonds should be cooked, so I put them in with the rest for the last ½ hour.

We found it good and nourishing.

It’s not easy to be a prophet, to receive a message from God and then have to tell everyone else. They laughed (probably till they cried) at Noah, they killed Jesus, they tried to kill Muhammad. We have the blessing of a prophet alive today. Are we listening to him? The message is found in « The Revelation of Arès ».

Tags:

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

