Taste Train

Hop on my random train of thought. See if you can follow the tracks (they might be moose tracks). The image above is of a few tasty things I had for lunch.

We went out to Baskin-Robbins for ice cream. It’s fun to look at all the flavors. I always get a chocolate one and then another one that’s different. I carefully tell the clerk the chocolate one first so that it will be on the bottom and that will be what I finish with, the “saving the best to last thing”. I keep an eye on them anyway – sometimes they do things backwards. There were “only” 24 flavors. I don’t know if creativity has waned or if they do less in the winter. I remember when a Baskin-Robbins first opened where we lived. I was younger than 12, something like 8 or 9. My parents pondered wonderingly, “31 flavors? Do you think that is possible?” This was so way beyond van-choc-straw or neopolitan if you want the intelligentsia term.

I settled for Rocky Road and Egg Nog, in a waffle cone. In this town, Baskin-Robbins and Dunkin’ Donuts are in the same store. Could be a double whammy, but I was quite content with my ice cream, so I feasted on the donuts only with my eyes.

My mother said her cereal tastes like cardboard. My father (who is in a home) said the ground meat has no taste.

I bought a translation-paraphrase of the New Testament called “The Message” and started reading it – it has me giggling at times. This verse didn’t make me laugh but opened an image:

“Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of the earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You’ve lost your usefulness and will end up in the garbage.” Matthew 5:13

I was then reminded of:

“I have not two tastes. (It is) the fish nerve (that God puts) in my mouth; the griddle cake is left (to the hanged) men.” The Revelation of Ares XXX/16 The note remarks the difference between the bland flavor of allegedly holy bread and fresh fish.

There is something wrong if life has no taste. It should be vibrant, joyous, shake us up a bit, wake us from slumber.

Tags: ,

About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

