Love ‘Dem Meatballs


 

On top of my noodles

Sprinkled with cheese

Sat a passle of meatballs

As cute as you please.

 

Yes, my noodles, made with my own little hands with eggs from my own chickens.  My grandmother taught me how to make noodles when I was 12 and I still remember! It’s really easy as you will soon find out.

But first I made the meatballs.  DH brought home two nice hamburger patties which I promptly un-pattied and mixed into the meat 2 cloves of garlic chopped fine, salt and pepper, and some thyme.  I pinched off pieces the size of a walnut and rolled them into balls.  You don’t want to make these too big as it’s nice to just pop into your mouth whole.   Image

Then I sliced 2 small onions finely and heated some olive oil in the skillet and got the onions going.  After a couple of minutes I put the meatballs in and jiggled that all around until it was looking browned and the onions all wilted.  Then I lowered the heat and put in half a box of Tomacoulis that had been hanging around in the fridge (that would be about ½ cup tomato sauce) and one fresh tomato, diced.  The  leaves from three nice 3″ stems of oregano, salt and pepper.   Put a lid on it and let simmer. Out of the freezer I got 2 basil cubes.

Think about this during the summer when your basil is growing nicely, cut it back and put the leaves in the blender with some olive oil and garlic.  Whiz it up and freeze, using an ice cube tray.  When they are frozen, you can put them into a freezer bag.  Don’t use that tray for anything else.  This is the best way to preserve the taste of basil.

Now for the noodles.  Take one egg for each person, scramble them (or it, if you are by yourself) in a bowl, then add as much flour as you can, yet it is still a dough.  Take out of the bowl and knead on a floured counter and then roll out as thin as you can, sprinkling with flour all the while.  Cut them, not as wide as you might think because they will swell when cooked.  I use a pizza wheel, but a knife will do.  Put on a fair amount of water to boil.

Then I went out in the garden and got a salad and some chives and fixed that while I was waiting for the water to boil.  I think that is what takes the longest.  Image  Chickens got the spotty leaves and the slugs.

When the water finally did come to a boil, I put in some sea salt and then the noodles, stirring good so they don’t stick together.  When they float, they are done.  Taste and make sure; they will be firmer than store-bought ones, and cook quicker.  Drain them.

Put the basil cubes in with meatballs at the last minute and stir well.

Get husband to grate some cheese and set the table!


About djdfr

Daily life experiences by a Franco-American woman living in the Breton countryside form the basics of this blog. Gardening, watercolour, choral music, food, are some of my interests. I seek to balance the physical, mental and spiritual. I am a free believer praying from the Bible, the Qur’an and The Revelation of Arès. In 1974, with Jesus as the messenger, and in 1977, manifesting as a stick of light, Our Creator spoke directly to a man in Arès, France, named Michel Potay. The message is in the book “The Revelation of Arès”. It is a call for us to change, to practice love, peacemaking, forgiveness, to free ourselves from all prejudice, to develop our spiritual intelligence, the intelligence of the heart.

Your thoughts:

